Barking & Dagenham Local History
Where History is in the Past

Where History Is In The Past

Web Links/Useful Addresses

Barking & Dagenham Local History: https://www.lbbd.gov.uk/local-archive-and-history-information

Barking and District Historical Society: Email: http://www.barkinghistory.co.uk/ or  barkinghistorical@hotmail.com 

Barking Local Studies Centre:  localstudies@lbbd.gov.uk F.A.O.  (Local Studies Librarian)

Barking Photographic: https://www.barkingphotographicsociety.co.uk/

British History Online (Barking Abbey): http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=39832

British Newspaper Library: https://www.britishnewspaperarchive.co.uk/

British Library, online catalogue: http://explore.bl.uk/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do?vid=BLVU1

British Library: https://www.bl.uk/collection-guides/newspapers

British Library, visit reading rooms: https://www.bl.uk/visit/reading-rooms

Captain Bennett Investigated, by Michael Wand, 'An Account of a historical enquiry into Capt John Bennett 1670-1717: http://www.foxearth.org.uk/CaptainBennett.html

Chadwell Heath Historical Society: Founded 1994, meetings 10 times per year at Chadwell Heath Baptist Church, High Road, Chadwell Heath, Essex:  Email: chadwellheathhistsoc@hotmail.com                                Website: https://www.facebook.com/chhistorical/

Consultant Ecologist (Denis Vickers website): http://www.consultantecologist.co.uk/aboutdenisjvickers.htm

Creekmouth Preservation Society: http://creekmouth.net/

Dagenham Parish Church: https://www.facebook.com/dpcfamily/

Dagenham Village photos https://boroughphotos.org/barkinganddagenham/category/theme/streets/page/30/

East of London Family History Society, includes Barking &Dagenham: https://www.eolfhs.org.uk/

Essex Record Office, search SEAX online catalogue: https://www.essexarchivesonline.co.uk/Default.aspx

Essex Recored Office, parish registers: https://www.essexarchivesonline.co.uk/ParishRegisters.aspx

Hainault Forest website: http://www.hainaultforest.co.uk/

Essex Directories on CD (to buy): https://www.parishchest.com/Essex__LID2523

Life In Tudor Times, website: Barking Abbey: http://www.tudorplace.com.ar/Documents/barking_abbey

London (Mayor: what we do for B&D): https://www.london.gov.uk/in-my-area/barking-and-dagenham

National Archives: http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/

Public Record Office, Kew (see National Archives)

St Margarets Church, Barking: https://www.facebook.com/stmargaretbarking/

Valence House: http://valencehousecollections.co.uk/

Vicarage Field Shopping Centre, Barking: https://www.facebook.com/vicaragefield/ and https://completelyretail.co.uk/scheme/Vicarage-Field-Shopping-Centre-Barking

Victoria County History, Volume V: includes Barking &  Dagenham: courtesy British History online: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=280

(A) Vision of Britain Through Time (Barking): http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/place/389

(A) Vision of Britain (Dagenham): http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/place/1192

Wikipedia, the free Encyclopedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barking